How to Pre-Prep Food

Standard

     This one is kind of common sense, but sometimes it’s good to go over basics and staples. First make sure you have enough preferably glass, but plastic will do, containers. Baggies will work for things like pancakes or fries, etc. depending on your situation, and I’ve been shocked at how perfectly the bags that bread loaves come in work for a bag lunch. I try to do a grain, a legume, 3-4 veggies, meat and flatbread of some kind, but you should adjust to your tastes. The key is really about how everything can mix together in as many variations as possible. For instance, I make herbed crepes- basically flour, water, and dried herbs poured into a hot greased pan, flip to cook both sides- and on top of that I can put nut butters, cream cheese or jam, or I can roll it into a thick wrap and fill with beans, veggies, and cheese. I tend to cook down things I use all the time such and an onion/pepper/garlic mix, mushrooms(which I do seperately because Aaron hates them, another good reason to pre-prep), eggplant slices, squash, etc, which I can then mix into omelets, wraps, and every kind of pasta or rice variation imaginable. Another favorite is sweet potato fries, filling and nutricious. I also like to cook some meat, ground or sliced depending on what I have, as it seems to keep longer with no refridgeration as opposed to raw. Fried chicken is a junk food treasure of mine, and it’s a great way to store and reheat meat. I also cook ground pork or beef into patties to make a quick burger another night. It takes about 4 hours to cook millet, black-eyed peas, hard-boiled eggs, onion/garlic/peppers, eggplant, sweet potatoes, and herbed crepes as one standard list, and that gives enough food for breakfast/lunch/dinner for 3 for about 4 days, with supplements of fried eggs, cheese, nut butters, and pasta. It cuts cooking time down to a third, and allows me to customize to each person’s taste- i.e Zoe is a vegetarian, Aaron is allergic to peas and hates mushrooms. ( I, personally, love food in all possible forms and don’t know what they have against their tastebuds, but that’s just me 🙂 I also love to premake cookie dough and add whatever nuts, dried fruit or chocolate I can find throughout the week- it’s led to some very interesting inventions. So, in one go it sounds like a lot of time, but believe me, one afternoon can save your week, esp if you make it a family activity and get everyone chopping and stirring. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

